top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBidushi Bora

Fishy Tales

By Zodiac, I am a Pisces meaning a Fish. Though I like to think I was some kind of a dolphin in my previous birth owing to which I am a Pisces this time, I am still grappling with the stranger than fiction aspect of the whole Zodiacal or Astrological thought process.

And I guess, I am supposed to have all fishy traits and so here I am. Eating Fish, like all normal fishes do (Except for whales, may be, they eat zoo plankton as I recall).

As for my ethnicity is concerned, I am from the North eastern part of India, where Fish is a staple. Another amazing wondrous food that we eat, Bamboo shoot. Yummilicious I tell you!

Mix them both and you would have dishes that have been prepared in our household since forever.

As you scroll down, this,here, is a quintessential north-eastern(India) dish. Flaked fish with dried bamboo shoot. Bamboo shoot has been used in North-east Indian, Chinese, Japanese and Korean cuisines for a very long time. It has a very strong aroma which doubles once it is fermented or dried. It is either disliked or liked for life because of it( and I am a die-hard fan). Dried bamboo shot is usually used with pork or dried fish but here I have used it with a twist.


Here is a pic for you all:


Here is the easy-peasy recipe:

Ingredients:

Fish(I have used Rohu, you can use any freshwater fish) (Dried or Fresh)

Chilli (I have used 5, the hotter the better)

Dried Bamboo shoot (About a handful, roasted)

Garlic 5 cloves(Roasted)

Salt to taste

Turmeric a teaspoon

Mustard oil

Red Chilli Flakes (optional)

Onion 1/2 of a small sized one(Julienne)

Lemon juice 2 tablespoon.


Method:

First of all marinate the fresh fish in salt and turmeric for about 10-15 minutes. Now, fry the fish till it is crispy on the outside. If in case you are using Dried Fish, you would just need to char grill the fish and garlic pods. Dry roast the Bamboo shoot it is crispy as well.

Make a coarse paste of Chilli, garlic and fry it along with onions till golden brown.


Now for Fresh fried Fish:

Add the fish and mash it till it is coarsely mashed. Fry till about 2-3 minutes. Mash the bamboo shoot and mix it with the fried fish and cook for another 2 minutes in low flame. Add about 1 teaspoon of mustard oil and the lemon juice and simmer in low flame for a minute. Serve it with Rice and dal(lentil).


For Dried fish:

Instead of frying the ingredients, you would need to mash it all together and add lemon juice at the end. (Omit Onions ).


Bon Appetit!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page